GDC Tral defeats GDC Anantnag in Inter-college Tennis Ball Cricket Tournament finals


SHOPIAN: In the final match of the ongoing South Kashmir Inter-college Tennis Ball Cricket Tournament, GDC Tral today defeated GDC Anantnag by 3 wickets, chasing the target in the 11th over.

The Cricket tournament was organised by Imtiyaz Memorial Government Degree College Shopian.

Earlier, made to bat first after losing the toss, GDC Anantnag could score a paltry 51 runs for the loss of 10 wickets within the allotted 12 overs. Zayeem Ahmad was the lone batsman to reach two figures while Ubaid Nisar and Musa Manzoor from GDC Tral took 3 and 2 wickets respectively.

Chasing the target, GDC Tral struggled a bit, but won the match by 3 wickets in the 11th over of the innings. Umer khan was the highest scorer for GDC Tral with 17 runs. Farhat Ahmad and Zayeem Ahmad from GDC Anantnag took two wickets each. 

In an impressive post-match presentation ceremony organised under the Chairmanship of Prof. Bashir Ahmad Dar, Principal IMGDC Shopian, trophies, medals and mementos were distributed among the participants.

The guests of honour for the ceremony were Dr. Javaid Abdullah Ex. Principal GDC Shopian and Prof. Irfan Ul Majeed Principal Govt Degree College for Women Anantnag.

Welcoming the guests and the participant teams, Prof Bashir Ahmad Dar lauded the efforts made by Physical Director Syed Latief and Sports Committee of the college in successfully organising the tournament and congratulated the Winning team. 

He emphasised on the fact that in future college will be organising more such events to promote the sports culture in the institution. Prof. Dar while congratulating the winning team wished the Runner-up team all the very best. 

Later on he presented the mementos to the guests of honour and officials engaged for the tournament. 

After his introductory speech, Prof. Dar gave away medals to the players of both teams. He also presented the Man of Match and Player of the tournament award to Ubaid Nisar and Farhat Hussain respectively. The runner up and winning trophy was jointly awarded to Ubaid Nisar from GDC Tral and Farhat Hussain from GDC Anantnag respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here