Ten Congress Councilors asked to file objection on Feb 11


Chief Whip demands disqualification all ten non-applicants on grounds of defection

SRINAGAR: The State Election Commissioner (SEC) K. K. Sharma on Monday asked the ten Congress councilors to file objections on February 11.

The directions were passed by the SEC while hearing an application seeking their disqualification was filed against them by one of Councillors from the party for defying a whip during the Mayoral elections.

According to the news agency—Kashmir News Observer (KNO), Advocate Shuja, who is pleading a case on behalf of Congress said that the councilors against whom the application has been filed appeared before the SEC today.

He said that they were asked to file their objection on February 11, the day when the case will be heard again.

The councilors include Shafat Gaffar from Ward 21 – Ziyarat Batmaloo, Sara Bilal from ward 64 – Dal Lake, Shameema Khan from ward 26- Bemina East, Zahoor Ahmad Rather from ward 17- Hamdania Colony, Farooq Ahmad Dar from ward 11- Chanapora, Haseena from ward 73- Chatterhama, Syeda from ward 22- Shaheed Gunj, from ward Gh. Rasool Hajam 30- Zainakot, Gulshan Bilal from ward 34-Syed Ali Akbar and Showkat Ahmad Kak from ward 41-Makhdoom Sahab.

The Chief Whip Basharata Bin Qadri from ward 24 Chattabal had stated that on 23-01-2022, the applicant issued a show cause notice to all the non-applicants for denying whip issued by the party for the election of Deputy Mayor of SMC. “Despite of show cause notices issued from time to time to non-applicants to explain their position for creating indiscipline in the party and also for defying the whip issued for the election of Dy. Mayor of SMC, the non-applicants did not bother to respond, which makes it obvious that they have defied the whip issued by the party to vote for the official candidate of the party,” the application, a copy of which lies with KNO reads.

It added that the applicant seeks disqualification of the non-applicants on the ground of defection as they have voted against the official candidate of the party, and therefore are liable to be disqualified as the member of Srinagar Municipal Corporation Act.

“It is therefore, prayed the Hon’ble court be pleased to disqualify the non-applicants as member of Srinagar Municipal Corporation under section 34*-C of Jammu and Kashmir Municipal Corporation Act 2000 on the ground of defection under section 34-A of Jammu and Kashmir Municipal Corporation Act 2000 and other grounds mentioned in the application in the interest of justice,” the Chief Whip has mentioned in the application.