Govt winds up Backward Classes Commission in JK


Nine statutory bodies abolished after  re-organisation of J&K             

SRINAGAR: The Jammu and Kashmir administration on Friday issued a formal order announcing the winding up of Backward Classes Commission that was constituted under the State Backward classes Act 1997.

With fresh order, the government in Jammu and Kashmir has wound up nine Commissions in the Union territory after the re-organisation of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories on October 31, 2019.

The government in an order,  issued under number 119-JK (SWD) of 2020 dated 29-05-2019, a copy of which lies with news agency—Kashmir News Observer (KNO), stated  that “Consequent upon repeal of Jammu & Kashmir State Backward Classes Act, 1977 by the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization (Adaption of State Laws) Order, 2020, sanction is hereby accorded to the winding up of Jammu and Kashmir Backward Classes Commission with effect from 31-03-2020, i.e date of issuance of the said order.”

Earlier, in October last year, the government shut down seven Commissions including Jammu and Kashmir State Human Rights Commission (SHRC), State Information Commission (SIC), State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (SCDRC), State Electricity Regulatory Commission (SERC), State Commission for Protection of Women and Child Rights (SCPWCR), State Commission for Persons with Disabilities (SCPwD) and State Accountability Commission (SAC).

The orders to wind up the commissions were issued by the General Administration Department (GAD), which read that “consequent upon repeal of the acts related to these commissions by the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, sanction is hereby accorded to the winding up of these commissions, with effect from October 31, 2019”.

Recenly, the government on April 30 announced the winding up of Jammu and Kashmir Vigilance Commission that was constituted under the Jammu and Kashmir State Vigilance Commission Act 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here