DDC Rajouri discusses annual action plan under PMKKKY


RAJOURI: In a significant step towards the holistic development of mining-affected areas, District Development Commissioner Rajouri Om Prakash Bhagat today presided over an important meeting to discuss the annual action plan under the Pradhan Mantri Khanij Kshetra Kalyan Yojana (PMKKKY).

The objective of the PMKKKY scheme is to implement   developmental and welfare projects/programs in mining affected areas that complement the existing ongoing schemes/projects of State and Central Government; to minimize/mitigate the adverse impacts, during and after mining on the environment, health and socio-economics of people in mining districts; and also to ensure long-term sustainable livelihoods for the affected people in mining areas.

Care has been taken to include all aspects of living, to ensure substantial improvement in the quality of life. High priority areas like drinking water supply, health care, sanitation, education, skill development, women and child care, welfare of aged and disabled people, skill development and environment conservation will get a major share of the funds.

Acknowledging the importance of meticulous planning and strategic allocation of resources, the District Development Commissioner directed the concerned officers to prepare a comprehensive and effective plan for the fiscal year 2024-25, specifically tailored to address the needs of the mining-affected areas.

Emphasizing the significance of a well-defined roadmap, he stressed the need for thorough consultations with concerned stakeholders to identify the key developmental priorities and formulate targeted interventions. The aim is to ensure that the upcoming projects and initiatives are specifically designed for sustainable change, uplifting the lives of those residing in mining-affected regions.

Through concerted efforts and strategic initiatives, the PMKKKY scheme shall continue to pave the way for sustainable development, upliftment, and enhanced livelihood opportunities in the mining-affected areas of Rajouri.

The meeting was attended by the ADDC, Raj Kumar Thapa;  SE PWD (R&B), Devi Dayal; SE Hydraulics, Bhram Jyoti Sharma; CPO, Maqsood Ahmed; ACR, Mohammad Jhangir Khan; DPO, Mohammad Nawaz Choudhary; ALC, Pradyot Gupta; EXEN Jal Shakti Rajouri, Ashwini Sharma; EXEN Jal Shakti Nowshera, Bipin Kumar and other concerned officers.