CEO invites political parties to meet delimitation commission on July 6 and 8


NC, PDP, PC, Congress, BJP and others asked to communicate names of members planning to meet

SRINAGAR: J&K’s chief electoral officer (CEO) has invited all major political parties for holding meetings with the three-member delimitation panel on July 6 and 8 in Srinagar and Jammu, respectively.

The office of CEO Srinagar and district election officer Srinagar and Jammu have written to the office bearers of National Conference, Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Conference, Congress, Bharatiya Janta Party, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Apni Party and other parties that the delimitation panel plans to hold meetings with the political parties on July 6 at Srinagar between 3: 30 pm to 6:30 pm and July 8 at Jammu between 3: 30 pm to 6: 30 pm.

The political parties have been asked to send the name of their members who are planning to meet the panel at Srinagar and Jammu.

“I am directed to request you to convey the names and contact numbers of members of delegation of your party (maximum five persons) at both places (Srinagar and Jammu) so that necessary time slot can be reserved and accordingly conveyed in advance,” the Joint CEO has written to the political parties.

They have also been communicated that written representation/memorandum be shared either in advance with the CEO office or at the time of meeting with the commission.

National Conference and Peoples Democratic Party are yet to decide on whether they will meet the panel.

The former had earlier decided against participation in the exercise, saying that they have challenged the law under which the panel was set- up.

The delimitation panel was constituted on March 6, 2020 under the Jammu & Kashmir Reorganisation Act- 2019.

The three-member panel is headed by former Supreme Court Judge, Justice (retd.) Ranjana Desai and comprises Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and State Election commissioner Kewal Kumar Sharma. It is mandated to fix boundaries of 90 assembly segments and five Lok Sabha seats of J&K.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here